Knife shopping usually starts with a price and works backward to a guess about the steel. This database works the other way: it’s every chef’s knife, Japanese-style knife, knife set and steak knife set across our guides, laid out by steel type, Rockwell hardness (HRC) and price band in one place, so you can compare the metal you’re actually paying for before you compare the marketing. It’s a reference, not a ranking — for buying picks, see the guides linked throughout.
How we built this
This database compiles the manufacturer specifications and published-source figures already gathered for our chef’s knife, Japanese knife, knife set and steak knife guides into one citable table, then re-checked each entry for a current listing and re-confirmed the higher-risk specification claims before publishing. We’re a research-led site, not a testing lab — every figure here traces to a manufacturer spec sheet or a named published source, never to our own measurement. Every product below was confirmed as a currently sold, findable listing during this compile pass (2026-09-10); a handful that turned up in our source research but couldn’t be pinned to one specific, currently listed model were left out rather than guessed at (see “What this leaves out” below).
Prices change often and we don’t want this page stale the week it publishes, so every entry uses a fixed price band instead of a dollar figure: under $25 · $25–75 · $75–150 · $150–300 · $300–700 · $700+. Bands are our own classification, not a manufacturer figure. Every model entry was re-read in October 2026: the band reflects the current selling price of the exact item on Amazon.com or the maker’s own store at that time. The brand-level tiers in the last table are a looser orientation and have not been re-read. Where we couldn’t find a purchasable listing for the exact item, the cell says “Band not confirmed: check the listing”. Where a manufacturer doesn’t publish a hardness figure, we say so plainly rather than estimate one.
Chef’s knives
Fourteen individual chef’s knives, the anchor category for most kitchens. Full picks and buying context: our best chef’s knives guide.
| Knife | Brand | Steel type | Hardness (HRC) | Construction | Price band |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wüsthof Classic 8-Inch | Wüsthof | X50CrMoV15 forged stainless | ~58 HRC | Forged, full tang, POM handle | $150–300 |
| Victorinox Fibrox Pro 8-Inch | Victorinox | High-carbon stainless (stamped) | ~55–56 HRC | Stamped, partial tang | $25–75 |
| MAC Professional MTH-80 | MAC | AUS-8 / proprietary high-carbon stainless | ~60–61 HRC | Full tang, sloped bolster | $150–300 |
| Shun Classic 8-Inch | Shun | VG-MAX core, Damascus cladding | ~60–61 HRC | Composite tang, pakkawood | $75–150 |
| Tojiro DP VG10 Gyuto 210mm | Tojiro | VG-10 and 13-chrome stainless | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Laminated reinforced handle, with bolster | Band not confirmed: check the listing |
| Global G-2 8-Inch | Global | Cromova 18 stainless | ~56–58 HRC | One-piece, hollow steel handle | $75–150 |
| Mercer Culinary Genesis 8-Inch | Mercer Culinary | High-carbon German stainless (forged) | ~55–57 HRC | Forged, full tang, Santoprene | $25–75 |
| Mercer Culinary Millennia 8-Inch | Mercer Culinary | High-carbon stainless (stamped) | ~53–54 HRC | Stamped, partial tang | $25–75 |
| Misen 8-Inch Chef’s Knife (ACUTO440) | Misen | AICHI ACUTO440 (Japanese high-carbon stainless) | 58±2 HRC | Rounded bolster, POM handle | $75–150 |
| Zwilling Pro 8-Inch Traditional | Zwilling | Forged German stainless, similar to X50CrMoV15 | ~57 HRC | Forged, full tang, POM handle | $150–300 |
| Henckels Classic 8-Inch Chef’s Knife | Henckels | German stainless steel | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Fully forged, triple-rivet handle | $75–150 |
| Made In 8-Inch Chef Knife | Made In | X50CrMoV15 NITRO+ | ~58 HRC | Forged, full tang | $75–150 (Truffle Black handle) |
| Cangshan Thomas Keller Collection 8-Inch | Cangshan | RWL-34 powder steel | 61 HRC | Forged, full tang, bolster-free | $150–300 |
| Artisan Revere Chef Knife | Artisan Revere | Elmax powder steel | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Richlite handle; softened handle and spine | Band not confirmed: check the listing |
Japanese-style knives
Seven more Japanese-style knives beyond the models already listed above (several chef’s-knife picks, like the MAC MTH-80, Tojiro DP, Shun Classic and Global G-2, are also Japanese-style and aren’t repeated here). Full picks: our best Japanese knives guide.
| Knife | Brand | Steel type | Hardness (HRC) | Construction | Price band |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MAC Santoku with Dimples (MSK-65) | MAC | Sub-zero tempered steel (per MAC) | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Dimpled blade, standard bolster | $75–150 |
| Shun Premier 8-Inch | Shun | VG-MAX core, 68-layer Damascus | 60–61 HRC | Composite tang, pakkawood handle | $150–300 |
| Miyabi Mizu SG2 8-Inch Gyuto | Miyabi | SG2 powder steel core (San Mai) | 63 HRC | Concealed tang, D-shaped micarta | $150–300 |
| Yoshihiro VG10 46-Layer Damascus Gyuto | Yoshihiro | VG-10, 46-layer Damascus | 60 HRC | Partial tang, octagonal wa-handle (wood varies by edition) | $150–300 |
| Masamoto VG Gyuto 180mm | Masamoto | Hyper Molybdenum-Vanadium stainless | 58–59 HRC (per retailer Korin) | POM (Duracon) handle, per retailer Korin | $150–300 |
| Demko Senpai Series Gyuto Chef (8-Inch) | Demko | VG-10 San Mai | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Octagon Japanese red oak handle | Band not confirmed: check the listing |
| Misono UX10 Gyutou | Misono | Swedish high-quality stainless | 59–60 HRC (Misono) | Riveted nickel-silver bolster, composite-wood handle (per Korin) | Band not confirmed: check the listing |
Knife sets
Eleven knife sets and blocks. Full picks: our best knife sets guide.
| Set | Brand | Steel type | Hardness (HRC) | Construction | Price band |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wüsthof Classic 8-Piece Block | Wüsthof | Stainless steel, PEtec edge | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Fully forged, triple-riveted | $300–700 |
| Mercer Genesis M20050 6-Piece Wood/Glass Forged Block | Mercer Culinary | High-carbon German stainless | Mid-50s HRC | Forged, full tang, Santoprene | $150–300 |
| Chicago Cutlery Essentials 15-Piece | Chicago Cutlery | Stainless steel | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Full metal tang, triple-rivet polymer handles | $25–75 |
| Victorinox Fibrox 8-Piece Block | Victorinox | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | TPE handles, NSF-approved | $150–300 |
| Zwilling Pro 10-Piece Block | Zwilling | Forged German stainless | Mid-50s HRC | Forged, full tang, curved bolster | $300–700 |
| Shun Classic 7-Piece Essential Block | Shun | VG-MAX core, Damascus cladding | ~60–61 HRC | Composite tang, pakkawood handles | $300–700 |
| Global Katana Walnut 6-Piece Block | Global | CROMOVA 18 stainless | ~56–58 HRC | Convex edge, stainless hollow handles | Band not confirmed: check the listing |
| Material Kitchen Trio / Knives + Stand | Material | Japanese high-carbon/stainless | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Full tang, composite handle | $150–300 |
| Made In Knife Set | Made In | X50CrMoV15 NITRO+ | 58+ HRC | Forged, full tang | $150–300 |
| Ninja Foodi NeverDull Premium 17-Piece | Ninja Foodi | German stainless | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Forged German stainless; storage block with built-in sharpener | $300–700 |
| Artisan Revere VIP Set | Artisan Revere | Elmax powder steel | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Softened handles, spines and choils; leather sheaths | $700+ |
Steak knife sets
Twelve steak knife sets. Full picks: our best steak knives guide.
| Set | Brand | Steel type | Hardness (HRC) | Construction | Price band |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Material The Table Knives (4-piece) | Material | German stainless | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Composite handle | Band not confirmed: check the listing |
| Wüsthof Classic 4-Piece | Wüsthof | Specially tempered high-carbon steel | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Forged, full tang, triple-riveted handle | $300–700 |
| Shun Premier 4-Piece | Shun | VG-MAX core, 68-layer Damascus | 60–61 HRC | Composite tang, pakkawood | $300–700 |
| Messermeister Avanta 5-Inch | Messermeister | German X50 stainless | ~57 HRC | Forged, full tang | $75–150 |
| Messermeister Avanta Damascus (Set of 4) | Messermeister | VG-10 core, 67-layer Damascus | ~62 HRC | Forged, full tang, ebony pakkawood | Band not confirmed: check the listing |
| Henckels Classic 4-Piece | Henckels | German stainless | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Fully forged, triple-rivet handle | $75–150 |
| Henckels Elan 4-Piece | Henckels | German steel | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Forged | $25–75 |
| Chicago Cutlery Walnut Tradition (B144) | Chicago Cutlery | Stainless steel | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Full-metal tang, walnut handle | $25–75 |
| Victorinox Swiss Classic 6-Piece | Victorinox | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Not stated on the maker’s product page (checked Oct 2026) | Not forged (per Victorinox), polypropylene handle | $25–75 |
| Laguiole en Aubrac 6-Piece Mixed-Wood | Laguiole en Aubrac | Sandvik 12C27 stainless | ~58 HRC | Hand-finished, full tang | $300–700 |
| Cutco Model 2159 | Cutco | Not confirmed: Cutco’s specification panel did not load when we checked (Oct 2026) | Not confirmed: Cutco’s specification panel did not load when we checked (Oct 2026) | Double-D edge | Band not confirmed: check the listing |
| Dalstrong Gladiator Series 4-Piece Steak Knife Set | Dalstrong | German X50CrMoV15 stainless | 54–56 HRC | Full tang; G10 or ABS handle depending on model | Band not confirmed: check the listing |
Brand-level quick reference
The table above is model-specific. This one is broader and looser on purpose: typical steel and price positioning by brand, useful when you’re comparing a brand you don’t recognize rather than a specific model. Treat it as a starting orientation, not a substitute for checking the actual model — some brands span several price tiers depending on the line. Full detail: our kitchen knife brands guide.
| Brand | Manufacturing | Typical steel / hardness | Typical price tier |
|---|---|---|---|
| Victorinox | Switzerland | Stamped; HRC not stated on the Victorinox pages we checked (Oct 2026) | Band not confirmed: check the listing |
| Mercer Culinary | Taiwan | Stamped ~53–54 HRC / forged ~56 HRC | under $25 · $25–75 |
| Farberware | Product-specific, imported | Stamped stainless, HRC generally undisclosed | under $25 · $25–75 |
| Wüsthof | Solingen, Germany | Forged X50CrMoV15, ~58 HRC | $150–300 |
| Zwilling | Solingen (major lines); varies by range | Forged proprietary/German stainless, ~57–58 HRC | $150–300 |
| Henckels | Varies by line and country | German stainless or unspecified, ~53–57 HRC | $25–75 · $75–150 |
| Misen | China (Japanese-sourced steel) | ACUTO440 on the current 8-inch chef’s knife, 58±2 HRC (Oct 2026) | $75–150 |
| Made In | Thiers, France | Forged X50CrMoV15 with nitrogen treatment, ~58–60 HRC | $75–150 |
| Material | Not clearly published | Japanese high-carbon/stainless, HRC undisclosed | $75–150 |
| Shun | Seki, Japan | Laminated/Damascus, VG-MAX ~60–61 HRC | $150–300 |
| Miyabi | Seki, Japan | VG10, SG2/R2 and other steels, ~60–63+ HRC | $150–300 |
| Global | Japan | One-piece Cromova 18, ~56–58 HRC | $75–150 |
| Tojiro | Japan (Niigata/Tsubame-Sanjo) | VG-10 with 13-chrome stainless; HRC not stated on the Tojiro page we checked (Oct 2026) | Band not confirmed: check the listing |
| Artisan Revere | United States | Elmax powder steel; HRC not stated on the Artisan Revere pages we checked (Oct 2026) | Band not confirmed: check the listing |
| Dalstrong | Founded in Canada; major production in China | Stamped and forged lines vary; Shogun uses 62+ HRC AUS-10V core | $25–75 · $75–150 |
Price band distribution
Of the 44 model-specific entries above, here’s how they spread across price bands, with entries whose band we couldn’t confirm counted separately:
What this database leaves out
A few things by design, not oversight:
- Cutting boards and sharpeners aren’t in the steel table. A cutting board’s relevant hardness is its surface material, not blade steel, and a sharpener’s relevant spec is abrasive grit, not HRC — folding either into a knife-steel table would force a comparison that doesn’t mean anything. See our best knife sharpeners guide and our cutting boards coverage separately.
- Two products we found in research aren’t listed as their own row. A “Made In Japanese-style” chef’s knife referenced in passing by one outlet, and Miyabi’s broader Artisan/Koh line, both turned up without enough model-specific detail (exact steel, exact hardness) to confirm as one specific, currently sold SKU rather than a family of similar products. Miyabi’s typical range appears in the brand table above instead.
- Manufacturer-published hardness isn’t always available. Several budget and direct-to-consumer sets (Chicago Cutlery, Victorinox’s set-only SKUs, Ninja Foodi, Material, several Henckels lines) don’t publish an HRC figure at all. We say “not stated on the maker’s product page” rather than estimate one — a difference worth knowing, since a brand that won’t publish hardness is telling you something too.
- This is a snapshot, not a live feed. Steel formulations and sourcing do change — Misen’s standard 8-inch chef’s knife, for instance, lists AICHI ACUTO440 steel (checked October 2026), and this table uses that specification.
Frequently asked questions
What does HRC actually measure?
HRC (Rockwell C hardness) measures how strongly the steel resists being indented by a standardized diamond tip. In kitchen knives it’s a rough proxy for edge retention and brittleness: higher HRC generally holds a sharp edge longer but chips more easily, while lower HRC dulls faster but tolerates rougher handling. It doesn’t measure sharpness itself, which depends on edge angle and geometry too.
Why do some rows say “not stated on the maker’s product page” instead of a number?
Because that’s what’s actually true. Some brands, especially budget and set-focused lines, don’t publish a Rockwell figure for every SKU. Rather than estimate a number that isn’t sourced, we say so directly — the gap itself is useful information.
Why price bands instead of exact prices?
Because a specific dollar figure is out of date within weeks, and a page that states one stops being accurate almost immediately. A band — $75–150, for example — stays true for far longer and still tells you where a product sits relative to the rest of the market.
Is a harder steel always the better choice?
No. Harder steel (roughly 60 HRC and up) holds a keen edge longer but is more prone to chipping on bones, frozen food or a hard cutting surface, and needs more careful sharpening. Softer steel (mid-50s HRC) dulls faster but tolerates rougher everyday use. The right choice depends on how carefully you handle and maintain a knife, not which number is bigger.
Where did this data come from?
Every figure traces to a manufacturer specification page or a named published source — see “Sources” below. We compiled it from the research already underlying our category guides, then re-checked current availability and re-confirmed the less-common specification claims before publishing this page.
Sources
Manufacturer and specialist sources consulted across our underlying category research and this update include: Wüsthof, Victorinox, MAC, Shun, Global, Zwilling, Henckels, Mercer Culinary, Misen, Made In, Cangshan, Artisan Revere, Tojiro, Yoshihiro, Masamoto (via Korin and hocho-knife.com), Miyabi, Misono, Demko Knives, Material Kitchen, Chicago Cutlery, Messermeister, Laguiole en Aubrac, Cutco, Dalstrong, Ninja Foodi and Global Cutlery USA, alongside published testing and commentary from Smarter Ranking, Good Housekeeping, TechGearLab, The Kitchn, Consumer Reports, Wirecutter, America’s Test Kitchen, The Rational Kitchen, Nothing But Knives, KitchenKnifeGuru, Reviewed, Allrecipes, Food & Wine, Serious Eats and Food Network. Current listings and select specification claims were independently re-checked against live retailer and manufacturer pages during this compile pass (2026-09-10). We don’t physically test knives ourselves — here’s how we choose.